Duration of backtests

Hello,
I'm new to the platform and am wondering if the backtests usually take a long time. Currently I have a strategy of 30 Long and 30 Short which changes every month, exits and rebalances. I buy on the first available trading day of the month. Backtesting a years worth of data takes about 2 hours, is this normal? Any help would be great!

Comments

• ptunneyptunney Posts: 246
    edited April 2019

The product was initially written as an intraday trading simulator and so is not tuned to run rapidly for daily (or monthly) backtests.
    As most of our internal trading is done on an intraday basis and thus fully executed and exited by the end of each day, the system is designed to be at its most efficient when a backtest is parallelized. So every day can run independently in parallel. However, all multiday strategies, by their nature, have to be run serially, the previous date has to complete before the next date can run. Hence backtesting systems designed for 'that' purpose are they are developed to run simply on daily bar data, in memory and thus very rapidly for that type of model.

However, there are a number of things you could do to speed things up.
    First, if you are not using any intraday or complicated callbacks then make sure you set the backtest to fast mode (ie you are only using minute bar call backs, no timers, no trades, no quotes, no news etc). Fast is the default mode if you have not upgraded to Elite.
    If you know the dates that you want to rebalance on, put a list in is_symbol_qualified, if it is not one of those dates then return False for all symbols. That way it will rapidly skip past the other dates.

from cloudquant.interfaces import Strategy

class Backtest_date_check(Strategy):
        @classmethod
        def is_symbol_qualified(cls, symbol, md, service, account): 
            if symbol =="SPY":